Mayor Wins Re-election, Democrats Take Council Seats

File photo

Newtown Borough Republican Mayor Charles “Corky” Swartz bested Democratic opponent Mike Sellers Tuesday and will hold on to his position for four more years.

In the race for Newtown Borough Council, incumbent Nicole Rodowicz was re-elected and newcomer Marvin Cohen won. Both Rodowicz and Cohen are Democrats and were elected to serve a four-year term.

Democrat Julia Woldorf beat incumbent Republican Chris Gusty by two votes in the race for the two-year Council seat.

Republican Judy Musto was re-elected tax collector against Democrat Regina Gairo.

About the author