Democrats Sweep Newtown Twp. Supervisor Races

File photo

Newtown Township voters cast their ballots for Democrats Tuesday.

Democrats Phil Calabro and Linda Bobrin won six-year terms of the Board of Supervisors and John Mack won a two-year seat.

Republicans Laure Gensbauer, Jerry Festa and Gerry Couch were both several hundred votes behind their Democratic opponents in the election, according to unofficial county vote counts.

The win will change the makeup of the Board of Supervisors to a Democratic majority come the new year.

Couch, a local businessman, was appointed to the Board of Supervisors last year after Michael Gallagher left to take the helm as Bucks County Controller, a position which he lost Tuesday.


About the author

Tom Sofield

Tom Sofield

Tom Sofield has covered news in Bucks County for five years for both newspaper and online publications. In 2012, Tom was honored at the Pennsylvania Newspaper Association Foundation's Keystone Press Awards for his coverage of President Obama's visit to Falls Township in 2011. When he's not covering news in the area, Tom enjoys checking out the newest restaurants and bars, exploring forgotten places of industry in the area, going to local parks and spending time with his friends and family. If there's one thing you should know about Tom, he is a local news junkie through and through. Email: tom@newtownpanow.com Phone: 215-431-1001